



IMT – Académie des sciences Grand Prix

[Established in 2017]

2019 CALL FOR APPLICATIONS

In 2019, the French Académie des sciences will award the IMT – Académie des sciences Grand Prix, presented with a €30,000 cash award.

This annual prize, established by IMT (Institut Mines-Télécom) in partnership with Fondation Mines-Télécom, is intended to reward a scientist who has contributed an outstanding body of work, recognized as scientific breakthroughs which have enabled the advancement of problematics stemming from industry or the private sector, serving sustainable economy, in one of the following scientific and technological fields:

- Digital transformation in industry;
- Engineering for the energy and the environment;
- Materials and manufacturing.

The IMT – Académie des Sciences Grand Prix is awarded to a scientist working in France, or elsewhere in Europe in close collaboration with a French team. There is however no citizenship requirement.

Documents for the application file

A laboratory director, the head of an institution, or a Member of the Académie must pass the application to the Académie des sciences, as a sign of support to this application. **Direct applications will not be accepted**. Furthermore, the same individual may not be nominated for two prizes within the same year.

The application files must include the following:

- 1. The IMT Académie des sciences Grand Prix application form
- 2. A recommendation letter that provides a personal opinion of the scientific sponsor on the scientist considered in the supported application (1 page)

This recommendation letter must be sent directly to the Académie and kept confidential.

- 3. A brief resume (1 page)
- 4. The candidate's key scientific achievements with respect to the above-stated expectations of this Award (2 pages)
- 5. A list of the main publications (up to 5, please briefly comment each reference, and add a link to an open access archive, 1 page)

Submission of applications

The application files must be sent:

- By email as a single file (PDF format) to the following email addresses: selay.diakite@academie-sciences.fr, muriel.touly@academie-sciences.fr
- By mail, as a single copy, sent to the following address:

 Académie des sciences, Service des Séances et des Prix
 23, quai Conti 75006 PARIS, France

The deadline for submitting application files to the Académie des sciences is Tuesday, April 23, 2019

A nomination application remains valid for three years; and may be updated by its scientific sponsor. The Grand Prix will be awarded at the Académie des Sciences, under the Dome of the Institut de France.

For additional information, please visit the following IMT website https://www.imt.fr/en/imt/awards-and-distinctions-awarded/the-prix-imt-academie-des-sciences/ or contact:

Sèlay Diakité - Tel.: +33 1.44.41.45.76 - Fax: +33 1.44.41.44.21, <u>selay.diakite@academie-sciences.fr</u>
Muriel Touly-Legros - Tel.: +33 1.44.41.43.79 - Fax: +33 1.44.41.44.21, <u>muriel.touly@academie-sciences.fr</u>





Your personal data is collected and processed by the Academy of Sciences for the purpose of responding to your application for the above-mentioned prize. Your data will not be shared outside the Academy of Sciences. In accordance with applicable regulations, you have the right to access, rectify, delete, limit, oppose and transfer your data. You can assert your rights by contacting us and proving your identity. In the event of a dispute, you have the right to refer the matter to the CNIL. Any request to delete data may prevent the execution of your application for this prize.

Previous winners

2018:

Pierre Comon, research director at CNRS, GIPSA-Lab (joint research center of CNRS, University Grenoble Alpes, Grenoble INP) and **Ange Nzihou**, professor at the CNRS, RAPSODEE Laboratory (Albi Research in Process Engineering of Divided Solids, Energy and Environment) - UMR CNRS, IMT Mines Albi.

2017:

Sébastien Bigo, director of research group "Réseaux IP et Optiques" at Nokia Bell Labs and **Pierre Rouchon**, professor at Mines ParisTech, and the director of the Mathematics and Systems research unit at the same school.